It’s the 2013 Drive-In/Exploitation/B-Movie Challenge!

by kdlough

drive_in_massacre_poster_01

Looking around on the DVD Talk forums the other day, I noticed that with April comes their 4th Annual Drive-In/Exploitation/B-Movie Challenge. What is it, you ask? Simple: a group of hardy souls attempt to watch 100 movies in a month, adhering to a set of required genres, actors, directors, and filmmaking cycles. The complete rules and genre requirements, written up by this year’s judge, forum user caligulathegod, can be found here.

Obviously, I love this kind of shit, so for the next month I’ll be posting regular updates on my progress. DO I ACTUALLY THINK I CAN MAKE IT TO 100 MOVIES? Well, considering my band is playing a music festival this month, I’ve been trying to get back into the drawing habit, and that whole “job” thing, I really doubt it. But it’s a nice excuse to plow through some terrible movies I have laying around.

I’m also going to try to focus on movies I haven’t seen before, preferably a few from exploitation genres I don’t have that much exposure to. This means I’ll be dipping into some Bond rip-offs, nudie cuties, blaxploitation, and Turkish cheapos that are a bit outside my usual habits.

So keep on the look-out for some monster updates in the near future.

